Antwerp Students Earn Place Among Top Winners In Contest


Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society congratulates Annie Miesle and Becca Johanns on their outstanding work in the Yearbook Excellence Contest.

Currently enrolled high school students were invited to enter the contest. Award divisions include writing and photography published in newspapers, news magazines and online, blogging and other skill sets employed in contemporary scholastic journalism.

Over 1,400 entries were evaluated in the 2016 contest. Awards were presented in 18 divisions, and in the blogging category. The contest yielded 36 sweepstakes winners and 297 National Award winners. Gold Keys, plaques, and the opportunity to apply for college journalism scholarships were awarded to the winning students.

The Yearbook Excellence Contest is conducted annually by Quill and Scroll, an honor society for high school journalism students, which has encouraged and recognized academic and journalistic excellence since 1926. Approximately 7,000 high school journalists in member-schools located around the globe are annually inducted into Quill and Scroll Honor Society.

For more information, visit or email or call 319-335-3457.